FIFA Club World Cup UAE 2017 -

Japan Cup Soccer

Japan Cup / May 25, 2020

The first meeting between the U.S. Women’s National Team and Japan took place in 1986, the second year of existence of the U.S. WNT program. The match in the far-flung locale of Jesolo, Italy, was notable in that it was the fourth win in U.S. history, but no one would have known back then it was the start of a series which would eventually include three of the last four world finals for women’s international soccer. While the rivalry has been very one-sided over the 34 times the teams have met, with the USA holding a 26-1-7 record and outscoring Japan 97-25, the clashes in the last two World Cup Finals and the 2012 Olympic gold medal match were all epic in their own way.

It’s those games that have created one of the richest and most intense rivalries in international women’s soccer, forever etching the names of these two countries in the history books and in the hearts of those who love the game, and the teams that play it at the highest levels with entertaining flair and passion.

USA vs. Japan
2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup Final
July 17, 2011 – Frankfurt, Germany

The first of the three finals took place at the end of a tremendously well-staged Women’s World Cup in Germany. The USA made it to the Final after defeating Brazil in a dramatic quarterfinal penalty shootout, after an even more dramatic late overtime equalizer from Abby Wambach – in a game that’s still one of the most incredible in World Cup history – and then downed France 3-1 in the semifinal. Japan earned its place in the championship game after one of the biggest upsets in World Cup history, a 1-0 defeat of two-time defending champion and host Germany in the quarterfinals, followed by a 3-1 win against Sweden in the semifinal.

The WNT celebrates a converted penalty kick during the penalty shootout against Brazil.

The storyline was thus: the star-studded United States of America, a team making its third appearance in a World Cup Final, having won the previous two times it had reached that stage, and Japan, which was making its first. For many, Japan was the underdog, certainly not because of a lack of talent – there were phenomenal players all over the pitch – but because it was their first time in a game of this magnitude at the senior level.

The Americans started strong and had far more dangerous chances throughout the match – and in fact probably should have been up a goal or two at halftime – but the game had to wait until late in the second half. It was the USA, as many predicted, who struck first. Young Alex Morgan scored in the 69th minute on a semi-breakaway to give the U.S. a 1-0 lead. Japan’s Aya Miyama found the equalizer in the 81st minute, pouncing on a loose ball in front of the U.S. net. Neither team could find a game-winner in regulation and the match went on to extra time.

Fourteen minutes into extra time, Wambach tallied her 13th career World Cup goal on a powerful header off a cross from Morgan to put the USA ahead, 2-1. As time wound down, it seemed as if the USA would finally win its elusive third World Cup title, but Japan had other plans, once again getting an equalizer. Legendary captain Homare Sawa scored in the 117th minute of extra time to make it a 2-2 game, thus sending it to a penalty shootout. Japan went on to defeat the United States 3-1 in penalties to become the first team from Asia to win the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Alex Morgan and Abby Wambach celebrates Morgan's second goal in the 2011 WWC Final.

For Japan, the somewhat unexpected title was a beacon of hope and an achievement that came when its country needed it the most. In March of that same year, merely four months before that World Cup Final, Japan suffered through a devastating earthquake and tsunami that took the lives of thousands of people. The World Cup success was a powerful moment for the people of Japan and it signaled the rise of women’s football in that nation. They were no longer underdogs but absolute contenders, thus establishing a rivalry that would be renewed in the years to come.

USA vs. Japan
2012 Olympic Games Gold Medal Game
August 9, 2012 – London, England

Following that devastating loss in Germany, the USA would meet Japan four times in 2012. On March 5 at the 2012 Algarve Cup in Portugal, Japan prevailed 1-0 and on April 1 in Sendai, Japan the teams drew 1-1. The USA started to turn the tide back to red, white and blue on June 16 in Halmstad, Sweden, with a 4-1 pounding of Japan. But of course, the most important game of that year came later in the summer.

A little over a year after the 2011 World Cup Final, the teams met again in a final, this time for Olympic glory. The memory of that World Cup loss was certainly still fresh in the minds of the U.S. players and this was the game they had wanted all along; a rematch on one of the biggest stages and a chance to take back the title of best team in the world.